Proton VPN Full Review


Proton VPN Details

Why Choose Proton VPN?

  • Free Products

Proton VPN Server Locations

Proton VPN Servers in IcelandIceland Proton VPN Servers in SwedenSweden Proton VPN Servers in SwitzerlandSwitzerland Proton VPN Logo
VPN
Free
$0 /Unknown period
Full Details
  • Connected Devices
    Nov 2019
VPN
Basic
$4 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Connected Devices
    Nov 2019
VPN
Plus
$8 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Connected Devices
    Nov 2019
VPN
Visionary
$24 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Connected Devices
    Nov 2019

Proton VPN Pricing

VPN
Package Price Connected Devices
Free $0 Nov 2019
Basic $4 Nov 2019
Plus $8 Nov 2019
Visionary $24 Nov 2019

Multiple Payment Types

Different customers like to pay in different ways, and Proton VPN lets you embrace them all


Proton VPN - credit
Proton VPN - MasterCard
Proton VPN - debit
Proton VPN - prepaid cards

Proton VPN Few Words

Proton VPN web hosting 2020: 0 customer reviews, 0 testimonials, 4 products, 0 promotions, 3 social media accounts, Alexa #11651, listed since 2019

20 Comments

Nick Thomas-Webster

May 25, 2020 11:42
What a waste of time even trialling this VPN. It would have been quicker to fly to the UK, watch the programme then fly back. Constant buffering, dropouts - I was expecting more from Proton since I have used their mail services for 2 years

Vic

Sep 08, 2019 08:01
Great service, decent speeds across multiple servers. The plans are a bit expensive but protonvpn does offer cheaper plans. I would like to see more supported countries and more servers. Overall a great VPN product.

pentagram_angel

Sep 14, 2019 10:43
I'm using ProtonVPN since 6 months and after some connection issues on Windows client, it works perfectly now. I also installed the client on Android with no trouble. But when it comes to run it on Linux, it is way too complicated to install for the beginners. Also the support is not very clear and there is many compatibility bugs on several linux distros, I'm disappointed to not be able to use it on all my devices. Also when I wanted to end my monthly pass, there is no function to erase your account unless you contact them.

JJ

Sep 23, 2019 05:52
They claim no logs, not sure. But I have been using ProtonVPN for a while now, and no one has logged me so far

Geoff Usherwood

Sep 25, 2019 03:49
Edit; after a lot of email wrangling backwards and forwards I have received a full refund as a result of Paypal dispute. Rating amended to 2 stars (from 1 star) Appalling customer service. Struggling to get a refund. Should you avoid this service provider? Yes. Customer service - this is where Proton falls way behind its competitors. I paid in full (making sure of a 30-day refund guarantee) and evaluated the VPN for 1 hour. Since it wasn't suitable, I requested termination and refund - according to their terms. I was denied a refund referring to their sale terms and conditions and all that. It's not a cheap service either. I am currently going through Paypal dispute service to obtain a refund which Proton are totally ignoring. In short, I would definitely avoid proton's services. As...

Serbentautas Portuberantas

Nov 02, 2019 01:08
I accidentally closed my subscription. now i have credits remaining, but can't reestablish yearly subscription. I can only subscribe for monthly plan,but that will cost me much more. I asked support to reestablish my subscription (yearly). It's a peace o cake for them to do,but surprise - they refused. So my verdict - support is very bad,they just grab your money and that's all. No help. AVOID

AAA19753

Nov 18, 2019 06:50
BEST VPN i ever used!!!!

Matthew LeMahieu

Dec 24, 2019 06:11
It is a decent VPN, especially at its price ran by a company that cares more about your privacy than Google, Yahoo, AOL, etc. ProtonVPN is also the only VPN that does not sell your information in terms of having a free VPN connection.

AB

Feb 01, 2020 10:25
Excellent , both in performance and technical specification , but also in the companies privacy ethos . Internet is great and we should all be able to use it in private without , any oppressive government , including oppressive WESTERN governments accessing our private data ,or criminals stealing out data and Protonvpn achieves this protection . Our so called governments , especially UK, if you have done nothing , you have nothing to hide , crap , Protonvpn protects us from that crap gov retorick. Customer support great quick cleat concise .

Jeric

Mar 06, 2020 08:27
I started using ProtonVPN and ProtonMail because of a security requirement from my Freelance job wherein they suggested these services. Eventually I went for a paid combination plan (ProtonMail Plus bundled with VPN), it is not the cheapest you can get the same services from other providers for 50% the price, but I guess that's a price to pay for Proton's great reputation in the security and privacy sector. Also, their internet speeds are very great.

Oliver

Feb 07, 2020 11:48
The VPN works but I feel thoroughly cheated, as the Basic subscription at 5 dollars/month doesn't allow you to use US Netflix. I feel like this should be advertised upon subscribing. Now I can only use it to torrent the shows I wanted to watch on US Netflix. I definitely want a refund, so I can purchase a VPN that doesn't deceive me in this manner.

Denys Knoetze

Apr 14, 2020 08:48
Had an initial problem, but it was sorted out. Great work.

Sam Owen

Apr 22, 2020 08:44
Brilliant VPN, I've had trouble with a few VPN services in the past due to either privacy concerns or poor connection quality but Proton has no such trouble, the UI on both the mobile and desktop software is easy to use and nice to look at, the speeds are really fast and stable, and with them being based in Switzerland and and not being part of the 14 eyes alliance I have full confidence in my privacy using ProtonVPN, can't recommend them enough.

Antonio Relaskas

Apr 26, 2020 08:00
I don't understand why if you are already Proton's client, you have to pay more!!! for their VPN subscription... one more (adding to other reviews) Customer Service issue...

Zexca Twar

May 01, 2020 07:04
Excellent VPN, very stable, have been connected for 7 days straight at most without disconnecting. The speed is also very good in Norway where i live, i got a speed of 300/300 Mbps, here is a comparison from speedtest.net Without the VPN i get: Ping: 1 Download: 304 Mbps Upload: 313 Mbps When i connect to a VPN based in Norway and run the test again, i get these results: Ping: 11 Download: 292 Mbps Upload: 206 Mbps (This may vary from server to server, but i generally get it pretty close to the speed i pay for and usually between 10-20MS) All in all, am very happy with the service, speed and features. Also, protonvpn are based in Switzerland, witch is a huge plus if you care about your privacy! 5 Stars.

Stephan Miller

May 13, 2020 07:23
Best VPN ever. I'm using them every day without any limitations in speed. Great work and thanks.

Sandor Strohmayer

May 19, 2020 04:21
I would like to update my review. ProtonVPN was kind enough to contact me again and send a second response. They indicated they had replied to both my initial emails Although I did not find their original emails in my spam filters or archived anywhere I appreciate their trying. I guess three times is a charm. _____ Original Review Below............ I would like to preface this review saying I had no problem with their VPN. My trial of their system has gone very well. Virtually no bandwidth loss, but their customer service is another issue. I had begun a trial with ProtonVPN over the weekend. Before I work with a company I send a support email to see if, when and how they respond and also to make certain that I am purchasing what I need. I sent two emails to ProtonVPN. They di...

Yalon

May 22, 2020 02:24
Connection speed is not always great but at least i hope that this service is really about privacy

Shone Milich

May 24, 2020 08:55
Open source applications, independent review of software, fast and reliable, privacy in a core! I wish there is a 10 stars option!

Trevor Hill

Mar 18, 2020 05:07
nope. tried this. OK for 2 days then upgrade,upgrade, upgrade and no connection. so I uninstalled it, only to find they had left me little presents along the way. irritating. you don't want these people anywhere near your computer.