Digital Ocean Full Review


Digital Ocean Details

Why Choose Digital Ocean?

  • Multi Server Locations - 8
  • Multi Payment Options - 4

Digital Ocean Server Locations

Digital Ocean Servers in IndiaIndia Digital Ocean Servers in New YorkNew York Digital Ocean Servers in AmsterdamAmsterdam Digital Ocean Servers in San FranciscoSan Francisco Digital Ocean Servers in LondonLondon Digital Ocean Servers in TorontoToronto Digital Ocean Servers in Frankfurt am MainFrankfurt am Main Digital Ocean Servers in SingaporeSingapore Digital Ocean Logo
Cloud Hosting
$960/mo
$960 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    192GB Memory
  • DISK
    3.75TB SSD Space
  • DATA
    12TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$640 /mo
$640 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    125GB Memory
  • DISK
    2.5TB SSD Space
  • DATA
    11TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$480 /mo
$480 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    96GB Memory
  • DISK
    1.875TB SSD Space
  • DATA
    10TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$320 /mo
$320 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    64GB Memory
  • DISK
    1.25TB SSD Space
  • DATA
    9TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$240/mo
$240 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    48GB Memory
  • DISK
    960GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    8TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$160 /mo
$160 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    32GB Memory
  • DISK
    625GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    7TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$40 /mo, Dedicated vCPUs
$40 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    4GB Memory
  • DISK
    160GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    5TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$80 /mo
$80 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    16GB Memory
  • DISK
    320GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    6TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$20 /mo
$20 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    4GB Memory
  • DISK
    80GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    4TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$15 /mo, 3 vCPUs
$15 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    1GB Memory
  • DISK
    60GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    3TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$15 /mo, 2 vCPUs
$15 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    2GB Memory
  • DISK
    60GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    3TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$15 /mo, 1 vCPU
$15 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    3GB Memory
  • DISK
    60GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    3TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$10 /mo
$10 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    2GB Memory
  • DISK
    50GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    2TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$5 /mo
$5 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    1GB Memory
  • DISK
    25GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    1TB Bandwidth
Cloud Hosting
$40 /mo
$40 /Monthly
Full Details
  • Operation System
    Linux
  • RAM
    8GB Memory
  • DISK
    160GB SSD Space
  • DATA
    5TB Bandwidth

Digital Ocean Pricing

Cloud Hosting
Package Price Disk space RAM Bandwidth Operation System
$5 /mo $5 SSD 25GB 1GB 1TB linux server plane
$10 /mo $10 SSD 50GB 2GB 2TB linux server plane
$15 /mo, 3 vCPUs $15 SSD 60GB 1GB 3TB linux server plane
$15 /mo, 2 vCPUs $15 SSD 60GB 2GB 3TB linux server plane
$15 /mo, 1 vCPU $15 SSD 60GB 3GB 3TB linux server plane
$20 /mo $20 SSD 80GB 4GB 4TB linux server plane
$40 /mo, Dedicated vCPUs $40 SSD 160GB 4GB 5TB linux server plane
$40 /mo $40 SSD 160GB 8GB 5TB linux server plane
$80 /mo $80 SSD 320GB 16GB 6TB linux server plane
$160 /mo $160 SSD 625GB 32GB 7TB linux server plane
$240/mo $240 SSD 960GB 48GB 8TB linux server plane
$320 /mo $320 SSD 1.25TB 64GB 9TB linux server plane
$480 /mo $480 SSD 1.875TB 96GB 10TB linux server plane
$640 /mo $640 SSD 2.5TB 125GB 11TB linux server plane
$960/mo $960 SSD 3.75TB 192GB 12TB linux server plane

Multiple Payment Types

Different customers like to pay in different ways, and Digital Ocean lets you embrace them all


Digital Ocean - credit
Digital Ocean - MasterCard
Digital Ocean - debit
Digital Ocean - prepaid cards
Digital Ocean - paypal

Digital Ocean Few Words

Helping millions of developers easily build, test, manage, and scale applications of any size – faster than ever before.

22 Comments

Mar 30, 2018 09:40
digitalOcean stopped my account out of no where claiming that I violated their terms of service, even tho the server was only used for testing local scripts, I was unable to get a refund nor my files from the server I had hosted on there, and was not provided with any details on why is that.
0 out of 5
Never again

anonymous

Nov 16, 2013 10:18
digitalocean.com has the worst support of all
I have worked with a lot of hosting companies already and I believe Digital Ocean has the best offers for VPS Hosting. Unfortunately though, I wouldn't recommend their services to beginners who has no experience in managing their own servers. Why? Because DO doesn't have much of a friendly and informative Technical Support team.

The support team often answers technical questions with one short sentence full of jargons which you would often ask "how do you do just that"? The worst part of it is that sometimes, they will not answer your question at all. And their replies feel that they are really in a hurry to end the conversation between you two.

Erinç Fırtına

Jun 08, 2020 06:20
Everything fraud for their system! I can't pay my bill because it does not accept my credit cards. Then they suspend my account and I can't access my droplets but in the meanwhile, they continue to charge. I create 2 tickets for payment and droplet access. 1 week passed still no answer.

Viktor S

May 07, 2020 08:39
Hosting tool set is fine and very user friendly, but prices are questionable. I Had no problems with support.

Asaad Naeem

May 07, 2020 10:24
Not only does their support suck they wouldn’t refund for me services I never used. I made an account with them and paid but when I realized they don’t use c panel I cancelled. 5 weeks later I get a charge, turns out auto billing was active by default. When I emailed them asking for a refund they didn’t address the refund just gave me instructions on how to turn auto billing off. I had to email again regarding the refund and 3 days later I get a response basically saying that can’t do it. Unbelievable. No wonder they have such bad reviews, I would steer clear of this company.

Andrea

May 08, 2020 02:16
Good service, best price!

Mustafa Şentürk

May 09, 2020 04:40
To the owners, I am 46 years old. My fourth university i am still studying at Yıldız Technical University Computer Engineering program. My second year in school. You can call by phone or mail to university about me. Last nigth 09.05.2020 at 00:05 am i was surfing the internet. I saw a add in Github Pages about the Digital Ocean (50usd free for the github education users) and i wanted to use this opportunity. When i came into digital ocean it me showed that 100USD is free if i join. I decided to join the site. I did whatever the site the digital ocean said to me. I gave the credit card details. I gave My passport fotocopy picture. Then for the validation i used my webcam to send them online for 20 minutes. Then afterwards i gave my telefone mobile number and live contact picture...

vendin

May 09, 2020 08:40
I am an ordinary programmer! I worked for several weeks in the digital ocean, everything was fine. At the same time, I was waiting for VPC function, I even talked with support about this. Ticket [# 03389762] I want to enable VPC for my account. At the github I talked with the developers when the functionality appears. github terraform-providers/terraform-provider-digitalocean/issues/415 When it was added, I immediately used it in my project. And Digitalocean blocked my account without explaining the reasons and did not tell me anything. I have 2 tickets with support since April 29 2020 (more 10 days), but they answer me stereotypical template, and in no way help me solve the problem. [# 03432097] Unfair account lockout [# 03412762] Verify Your Account. Please do not repeat the same ...

Alan Patterson

May 11, 2020 01:11
Locked my out of my account after taking payment - have issued a refund but no explanation as to why account was locked at all and no response to support tickets. Very shady.

Kevin Walsh

May 12, 2020 11:40
Fraud Alert!! Digital Ocean continues to charge my credit card despite multiple requests to close my account and stop all charges. "Praveen" in customer service has been completely unhelpful in attempting to resolve this problem. I have asked him multiple times to close my account which has not been used in over a year. The credit card company is refunding charges, but it is extremely annoying to deal with this problem. This is the worst hosting experience I have ever encountered. Beware!!!

Mike D

May 15, 2020 03:19
My simple 1 click install worked great apart from the fact that ports were blocked. I've been waiting 9 days for someone to help me out, I've followed my ticket up multiple time and even gone via Twitter. At least they responded in twitter even if it was just to say they have my ticket, however, even after 9 days since submission, I will eventually just cancel because the lack of care for small guys like us doesn't bode well in my opinion. Luckily, I have access to a range of hosts I trust with my serious stuff.

Nicmene

May 16, 2020 09:35
DO NOT USE DIGITAL OCEAN. Most ISP's will block AS14061. Check your Digital Ocean IP for blacklist. Digital Ocean does not response nor take action against abuse. They are a hacker/spammer friendly haven. We run servers throughout USA & Europe and have full blocks on AS14061.

Naif MS

May 15, 2020 11:18
THEY LOCKED MY ACCOUNT AFTER I PAID !!!!!!!!

Luka

May 21, 2020 03:47
Scammers without customer support. After signing up and entering my personal and payment information, I was immediately informed that my account has been blocked by their automated systems due to suspicious activity. I opened a support ticket requesting an explanation which has been ignored for 2 weeks, despite numerous attempts to resolve the issue from my side. They're also ignoring my request to delete my personal and payment information as per EU GDPR law, and close the account, for which I filed a complaint with my local EU data protection agency. Avoid, and use other vendors such as Linode instead.

Jed F

May 21, 2020 08:53
support is not good, server performance also poor but I like it.

Jonas S.

May 27, 2020 12:56
My account was locked after payment and got the message that my account "match patterns associated with fraudulent behavior, by our automated systems". Wrote to support, but they haven't replied for a couple of days. Sad because I found them on hosting reviews sites with good ratings and wanted to host using their services.

James Halden

May 27, 2020 07:19
They suspended my account after using the FREE TRIAL for 2 days because of "suspicious behaviour" and its now trying to charge me $374.99.

Alex K

Jun 02, 2020 10:29
If you care about your data. DO NOT USE these people. There are several documented cases, where they've intentionally deleted users data as a way to punish them for trivial, fixable policy violations. You get a warning, if you miss the emails, within about 4-5 weeks they'll destroy your data. Don't get sick for long. Don't go on extended vacation without continually checking your email. You have to stay vigilant if you have a DigitalOcean account, or you might just lose everything.

Suraj Kadam

Jun 03, 2020 06:39
The pricing and flexibility is nice, but no support at all. You are getting good service from them when it is about resources and all. But if you end up caught into some issues, there is no one to help you via support. email support is very slow.

John Fordham

Jun 03, 2020 09:04
Support does NOT EXIST at Digital Ocean. If you have a problem you are gonna be all on your lonesome here. If you have a website that is important to you or your business - DO NOT HOST IT HERE.......... ......................................................... Sure here is my ticket # [Ticket #3474643] ......................................................... BTW - support "did reach out to me" but it's the same old BS support.

Tuhaf Coder

Jun 04, 2020 05:46
I had a server where I installed plesk in digital ocean and hosted several blog sites. Ridiculously, our server and account were suspended under the excuse of abuse content. Although we talked with support dozens of times, although we stated that there was no backup of our websites, we could not even get our website backups. Has anyone experienced this problem before and what can I do about it?

Reviewer

May 16, 2020 08:41
Good online documentation. I have used Digital Ocean for a short time, and feel that their customer department is slow and less eager to help out. May be their products are more suitable for developers rather than simple non-technical people as they offer infrastructure as a service.....